PPA #175 and Friday Mash Up #131: Stampin Up Best of Autumn

2013.10.11 FRI MASH UP FINAL

I’m still getting “my feet wet” with design challenges.  I appreciate how they move me beyond my favorites and beyond my normal approach.  This week I decided to combine two challenges, Pals Paper Arts #175 using So Saffron, Always Artichoke and Cajun Craze along with the Friday Mash Up #131 sketch.  I have to confess, I’d never used Always Artichoke before and boy was it was evident when I inked my first stamp – I had super juicy Gorgeous Grunge!

 

SUPPLIES:

STAMPS:  SU Gorgeous Grunge, SU Best of Autumn, SU Woodgrain

PAPER:  SU Cardstock: Very Vanilla, So Saffron, Always Artichoke, Cajun Craze, Basic Black

TOOLS:  Circle cutter, Big Shot, SU Chevron EF, SU Square Lattice EF, SU Autumn Accents Bigz, Creative Memories leaf punch, SU sponges, SU blender pen

SU INK: Cajun Craze, Always Artichoke, So Saffron, Staz-On Black

OTHER SUPPLIES: SU Dimensionals

fm1312 2013.10.11

PPA #175 2013.10.11

 

 

ppa pick 2013.10.16

MashupGlametteBadge_zpsb1d25b45 2013.10.18

12 thoughts on “PPA #175 and Friday Mash Up #131: Stampin Up Best of Autumn

  1. Stacey, great use of the sketch! and the colors. The smaller leaf was a great detail for the design element for Amanda’s sketch- The Grunged up banners are awesome. Great photo, too. Thanks for playing along with the Friday MashUp this week!

  2. Thank you Cindy. The smaller leaf was “one of those” elements that took me beyond my “norm.” I was pleased with the card without an embellishment; so, I really had to think hard to come up with something I felt worked well with the layout. I was glad to be “nudged” by the challenge 🙂 Thanks for introducing me to Friday MashUp!

  3. Love how you layered the tree over the embossed leaf….very cute! Thanks for joining us this week at Pals Paper Arts! I hope you play along with us again.

    • Thank you Beth. This card took several different turns from beginning to end; the embossed leaf was one of those “ah-ha” moments in the midst of making the card 🙂

    • Thank you Debbie. I wanted a “carpet of fallen leaves” effect under the tree and found a few dabs of my sponges accomplished the effect quite easily!

    • Thank you, Heidi! The original design in my mind didn’t use the leaf; but, I liked the way the card evolved and included the leaf 🙂

    • Thank you, Liliana. I actually used my blender pen and combined the 3 colors for the “bark” on the tree in order to keep a full balance.

Leave a Reply

