Paper Players #169 and Dynamic Duo’s #76 Thinking of You

2013.10.27 DUO AND PP 169

This card features Paper Players #169 Sketch and Dynamic Duo’s #76 color challenge of  Wisteria Wonder and Perfect Plum.  Once again, I was faced with using colors I rarely ever use.  Hmmm, how to combine the two colors proved to be a mental challenge!  I wanted something to make the colors pop and finally decided to go with black.  Okay, one decision was made.  As I sat continuing to ponder, I placed the two purple ink pads in front of me and focused on the colors.   Then, an “Aha” moment struck; I grabbed my spritzer bottle of water and my markers and started coloring on my acrylic block.  Next, I lightly misted the inks before applying the [colored] block to my watercolor paper.  I was quite pleased with the mottled effect the two colors created when they blended with one another.  I was thinking of an evening sky when I created this background and decided a perched bird against the evening sky would be the perfect accent.  The bird’s colors were CASEd from one of Michele Zindorf’s cards.   A few candy dots, the greeting and three strips of DSP completed the card.

SU STAMPS:  Sweet Essentials

SU CARDSTOCK  & PAPER:  Perfect Plum, Basic Black, watercolor paper, Perfect Plum Regals DSP

SU INK:  Perfect Plum, Wisteria Wonder, Crumb Cake, Basic Black, Basic Gray, Smoky Slate, Versamark

SU SUPPLIES & EMBELLISHMENTS:  Perfect Plum 3/8” taffeta ribbon, three Wisteria Wonder candy dots, white embossing powder, blender pen, spritzer bottle with water, acrylic block E

TOOLS:  Bird Punch

ADHESIVES:  Red line tape, double sided tape, SU dimensionals

pp 169 2013.10.27 duos 10.27.2013

8 thoughts on “Paper Players #169 and Dynamic Duo’s #76 Thinking of You

  1. Love how you created your own designer paper, and the technique you used Stacey! Love the cute little bird, too. Thanks for sharing your creation with us at The Paper Players!

  2. Thank you, Susie. I had struggled with some other cards that evening and was SO thankful when this card came together quite easily 🙂

    • Thank you, Nancy. I’m trying to think now how to implement the idea for a Christmas card. The mental wheels are turning 😉

Leave a Reply

