PPA 177: A Very Merry Christmas to You

I loved the layers in this week’s Pals Paper Arts Sketch 177.    Currently all of my Christmas paper is laid out on a table in my studio, so I can see it all at a glance; selecting the DSP and coordinating colors was a breeze.  The focal image, on the other hand, ranged from hedgehogs to these presents under the tree.  My mind was scurrying with ideas!   While the card is basically quite straightforward, I did happen upon an exciting discovery.   As I was creating the card, I was picturing the presents under a Christmas tree.  I wanted to visually communicate that; so, I decided to experiment with  my Lovely as a Tree single stamp.    I discovered,  if I turned the stamp sideways and only inked half the tree,  it offered the effect of a Christmas tree branch hanging over the presents. Woo hoo!   I suspended a few Christmas ornaments (SU rhinestones) from the boughs as the card’s finishing touch.

2013.10.27 VS3

SUPPLIES:

SU STAMPS:  Merry Little Christmas, Wishing You, Gorgeous Grunge, Lovely as a Tree, Best Yet (retired)

SU CARDSTOCK:   Whisper White, Gold Foil Sheet, Crumb Cake, Old Olive, Cherry Cobbler

SU DSP:  Season of Style

TOOLS:  Perfect Polka Dots SU EF, heat tool, corner rounder

SUPPLIES & EMBELLISHMENTS:  Clear embossing powder, small, medium and large rhinestone, Cherry Cobbler Dazzling Details, Season of Style washi tape

ADHESIVES:  SU Dimensionals, double sided tape, red line tape

SU INK & MARKERS:  Versamark, Old Olive, Gold, Crumb Cake, Cherry Cobbler, Silver

 

ppa 177

2 thoughts on “PPA 177: A Very Merry Christmas to You

  1. Thank you Ann. I was so excited to make that discovery, then today I was noticing how widely used that idea is. Still, it made me happy to have the initial thought on my own 🙂

Leave a Reply

