Freshly Made Sketch 111: Winter Cardinal

2013.11.11 FRESHLY SKETCH

I had so many ideas flitting through my head as I considered this week’s Freshly Made Sketch; so, I decided to start by choosing my paper and then working from there.  Typically I use Stampin Up products; but, last week I pulled out all my archived Christmas paper and it was “calling my name!”  Once I selected the paper, I knew I wanted to focus on the red, which reminded me of the $1 cardinal stamp I threw in my cart as I was checking out of the store Friday.   As I looked at the stamp closely, I got very excited, because it was the perfect stamp for experimenting with the new tube of liquid applique that was sitting on my desk!  With the cardinal colored and in place, there was only one decision remaining — what embellishment should I use to finish the card?   I glanced to the left of my desk at the discarded button/bow I had prepared for another card.  I liked the button; but, I wanted a red accent.  Hmmmm.  I reached for my Real Red marker and decided to give it a try.   Woo hoo – a new discovery for me — you CAN color (and heat set) Stampin Up’s natural buttons to match your projects – happy dance!!!

SUPPLIES:

STAMP:  Craftsmart Cardinal

STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK:  Always Artichoke, Very Vanilla

DSP:  Kaiser Craft

EMBELLISHMENTS & SUPPLIES:   SU Natural button, SU natural linen thread, SU black embossing powder, Liquid Applique, sponges

TOOLS:  2-3/8 Scallop Circle Punch, heat tool

ADHESIVES:  Snail adhesive, Dimensionals, medium glue dot

INK:  Versamark, Always Artichoke, Chocolate Chip, Crumb Cake, Real Red, Tangerine Tango, Primrose Petals, Cherry Cobbler, white gel marker

fmsfinal111-001 2013.11.10

4 thoughts on “Freshly Made Sketch 111: Winter Cardinal

    • Thank you, Jen. That was my first time using liquid applique. I saw someone use it on Youtube and decided I wanted to give it a try. I love the effect it gives for a snowy scene.

Leave a Reply

