Friday Mashup 135: Cardinal Tea Light Favor

2013.11.11 FRIDAY MASHUPHave you ever had “one of those” projects where you kept mulling it over and over in your mind, mentally making it and then remaking it time and time again?  That’s what this project was for me!  I wanted to make a holiday tea light favor (battery operated, of course) that would have a WOW factor on any holiday table.  I scored different box sizes and finally settled on a small milk carton size (this one measures 2” x 4.25”). Then, one night as I was perusing Pinterest, I saw a pin by Jennifer Eby that had the most beautiful punched cardinal; I immediately knew I had to have a cardinal on my favor.  (Hmmm, looking back over my most recent posts, this makes three cardinal posts in a row!  You’d think I was a bird lover or something!)

This week’s Friday Mashup gave me the incentive to apply the finishing touches, which were basically just assembling and attaching the roof.   I used two small Velcro dots on the back flap of the roof in order to give easy access to the tea light.   The picture may give the illusion of a yellow card stock circle; but, that’s actually a battery operated tea light glowing behind a piece of vellum!

SUPPLIES:

STAMP:  SU Woodgrain background

STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK & PAPER:  Baked Brown Sugar, Old Olive, Real Red, Vellum (I used a piece of a discarded wedding invitation J)

EMBELLISHMENTS & SUPPLIES:   SU Cherry Cobbler Dazzling Details

SU TOOLS:  1-3/8 circle punch, scallop border punch, bird punch, score board

ADHESIVES:  Red Line tape, Dimensional, Tombo glue, Velcro

INK:  Baked Brown Sugar, Cherry Cobbler, white gel marker

MISCELLANEOUS: 1 battery operated tea light

FRIDAYMASH UP 2013.11.11

8 thoughts on “Friday Mashup 135: Cardinal Tea Light Favor

  1. Stacey, this is fabulous. Your cardinal is so life-like and perches so beautifully on the branches. The glow from the tea light is so cool…a real WOW! So happy you joined the Friday Mashup this week!

    • Thank you, Cindy. There’s something so peaceful about small flickering lights 🙂 Thanks for “turning me on” to Friday Mashup!

  2. What a gorgeous creation! I just adore cardinals and your little bird is just darling! I also love the woodgrain detail on the birdhouse, it looks fabulous!

    Thanks so much for playing along with us at The Friday Mashup!

    • Thank you, Lisa. When I ordered the wood grain stamp I wasn’t sure how much I would use; but, I’ve found it to actually be my favorite background stamp!

  3. Stacey, this is a beautiful project. It takes some serious talent to create punch art. The cardinal is my favorite part. Keep joining us on the Friday Mashup.

Leave a Reply

