Friday Mash Up 143: Valentine Hedgehog

2014.01.22

It’s no secret that I love the hedgehog stamps; in fact, this little guy was my very first hedgehog!  It’s easy to understand why I fell in love with them, isn’t it?!   The Friday Mash Up this week was to create a  design using Real Red, Coastal Cabana (I had to substitute Soft Sky) and Crumb Cake (look carefully at the basket for my Crumb Cake usage).  I used my blender pen to tone down the Real Red so that I didn’t have a hedgehog with a sunburn!   The strip of Soft Sky was my most challenging element — after trying 3 different embossing folders and not liking any of them, I decided to stamp a background.  I chose one of the small stamps from Hearts  a Flutter and stamped Soft Sky ink on Soft Sky CS to create a muted background.   The Mash Up was to include hearts and an arrow along with the colors given above.  You may have to use your imagination, but the black and white element under the hedgehog resembles an arrow in my  mind!  🙂

STAMPIN UP PAPER:  Real Red, Soft Sky, Sale-a-bration 2013 DSP, Basic Black, Whisper White

STAMPS:  Hearts a Flutter and the adorable hedgehog (does anybody know the name of this stamp?  I bought it on EBay last year and have no idea it’s official name)

INK:  Soft Sky, Real Red, Crumb Cake, Versamark, Basic Black

SUPPLIES:  Blender pen, black embossing powder, candy dots, Embosslits Fashionable Hearts, Polka-Dot EF, paper piercer, Essentials paper piercing pack, paper piercing mat, dimensionals, Floral Frame die

FMU 143

8 thoughts on “Friday Mash Up 143: Valentine Hedgehog

  1. Cute, cute, cute Stacey! I love the paper piercing in the corners and the candy dot accents. I agree the design element of an arrow is evident with below the little red heart. Your hedgehog love is contagious. Thanks for joining the Friday Mashup this week;)

  2. Your card is super cute! I like how you thought out of the box for the arrow element! Great job at incorporating both challenges!

    Thank you for joining us at The Friday Mashup!

Leave a Reply

