Paper Players 179: Stampin Up For the Birds Valentine

Wow, who would have thought making a single layer card could generate so much “giddiness!”  My wheels really turned to design this card for the Paper Players Challenge; I can’t remember the last time I did a single layer card – whew!  My brayer was lying out from my class, so I thought I’d try brayering a “framed picture”.  I used my scallop die as a mask while I brayered Daffodil Delight, Tangerine Tango and Melon Mambo.  Then I gently daubed in each opening to be sure the inking was even for my frame.  After removing the mask, I stamped my images and did a bit of coloring – voila!  The bottom needed a touch of something, so I grabbed my $1 stamp that I picked up at the check out counter the other day, inked it with Tangerine Tango and then clear embossed it for a subtle accent.

2014.01.23 PP179STAMPS: Stampin Up For the Birds; SU Teeny Tiny Wishes; Craft Smart heart

CARDSTOCK: Whisper White (that was easy!)

INK: Black Stazon, Tangerine Tango, Stampin Up markers: Believe it or not there are 14 colors used on this little image – basically choose a light, medium and dark of each color group. Real Red was used for the heart

SUPPLIES: Brayer, scallop oval die, big shot, blender pen, clear embossing powder, heat tool

pp179

4 thoughts on “Paper Players 179: Stampin Up For the Birds Valentine

  1. Oh, the ombre created from the brayering is fabulous. I love the three birds in the middle. Fabulous coloring. So glad you joined the Paper Players this week

  2. WOW, this definitely looks like more than a one-layer card, you did a fabulous job with the brayering and the colors….what an awesome technique! Cute images too! Thanks so much for playing with the Paper Players challenge this week!

Leave a Reply

