PP #186: FOR THE BIRDS

Oh my, aren’t these birds adorable?!  Paper Players challenge for the week is to use Marina Mist, Crushed Curry and Smoky Slate.  When I laid the colors next to one another on my desk, they were a bit more overpowering than I wanted.  I’m SO ready for Spring, that I’m really focusing on light and airy cards right now.  So, I decided to go with just a hint of Crushed Curry against a Marina Mist background.  These little birds “talking” to one another on the phone lines seemed like a perfect choice.  I selected the Cloudy Day EF to give a feel of the birds being up in the air.  Then, I added additional “electrical lines” under the image with my black baker’s twine.

Here are a couple of basic alignment tips that I used on this card:

  • To evenly place your brads on each end, punch a second Modern Label, fold it in half; with the piece still folded in half, punch one hole through both layers.  Use this piece as a template and lay it over the actual Modern Label you’re using for your card to align your holes as you punch/poke.
  • This DSP makes adding embellishments a breeze!  Simply use the arrows on the DSP as your grid to line up the objects and count the spaces between each embellishment for quick and easy even spacing.

2014.03.14 PP186

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): For the Birds
STAMPIN UP INK: Memento Black, Crushed Curry
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Marina Mist, Whisper White, Basic Black
ACCESSORIES: 1-3/4” oval punch, large scallop oval punch, Word Window punch, Modern Label punch, Itty Bitty punch, Cloudy Day EF, silver brads, Smoky Slate candy dots, black baker’s twine, dimensionals, blender pen

pp186

6 thoughts on “PP #186: FOR THE BIRDS

  1. This is so cute, Stacy! Love those cute little birds. I have this stamp set and you are reminding me that I’ve been neglecting it. Love the embossed clouds too, they go so well with the birds. Thanks for playing along with us this week at The Paper Players!

  2. What a cute card, Stacy! These colors are perfect for a spring birdie card! Love how you’ve framed the birds in the oval…Thank you for joining us at The Paper Players!

Leave a Reply

