FabFri41: The Open Sea

Masculine cards are the theme in my studio this week; so, tonight I reached for my newest stamp set, The Open Sea.  I have to confess to feeling a bit intimidated by this stamp set.  I’ve seen so many beautiful projects created with these stamps; but, I just wasn’t sure where to start.  The Fab Friday sketch design seemed to be an excellent layout for the ship, so I decided to go that route.  The card began very crisp with bright Whisper White and non-inked Lost Lagoon.  But, as I continued, I wanted more of a distressed feel; so, I lightly sponged Soft Suede over everything.  Rather than add an exterior embellishment as the sketch depicts, I chose to place a sun in the position where the embellishment belonged.  For the final touch, I added a fun sailor’s knot I saw on Pinterest; here’s the tutorial  I followed (don’t be intimidated by it, one step at a time and you can do it!  I was successful on my first try.)

FABFRI41 2014.05.15

STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): The Open Sea
STAMPIN UP INK: Soft Suede, Soft Sky, Island Indigo, So Saffron, Crisp Cantaloupe
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Soft Suede, Lost Lagoon, Moonlight DSP
ACCESSORIES: Square Lattice EF, metallic brads, aqua painter, sponge, jute twine (non-SU), dimensionals

FabFri41

6 thoughts on “FabFri41: The Open Sea

  1. I’ve seen a few great masculine cards lately and yours joins that group! I really like how your image looks like a porthole with the brads all the way around. And your knot is great too…I need to know how to do this for an upcoming project I’m planning! Thanks! Thank you for sharing at Fab Friday!

  2. Stacey, Lost Lagoon is a beautiful choice for this image! I took my first pass through this DSP last night and loved the variety of patterns. Your wavy page was a perfect selection. Thanks for playing along with this FabFriday sketch challenge.

  3. This card is beautifully done! Everything works so well together, but my favorite detail is the sailor’s knot- perfect! Thanks for joining us at Fab Friday!

Leave a Reply

