Retrosketches 114: Wetlands, A Word for You and Gorgeous Grunge

My daughter has been researching beach houses for our family vacation this year; I’m so excited to have a week with all of my immediate family under one roof – I love those times!  As my mind was in “beach mode,” I reached for the Wetlands set to create another masculine card.  I really like the Retrosketches challenge for this week; but, I struggled to achieve the look I had envisioned.   So, I decided to flip the sketch to horizontal and then the card fell quickly into place.  To help me properly place the framing score lines, I cut a chipboard template and used that on the back of the card face.  I aligned the template lines with my score board lines, and proceeded to score.

RS114 WETLANDS 2014.05.15

The images seemed to blend in with the card a bit too much; so, I used a dauber with some Crumb Cake ink to create a bit of a shadowed background within the frame.  It’s ever so subtle; but, does provide the touch of contrast I desired.  This card was inspired by Julia Carmichael.

rs114 wetlands depth 2014.05.15

STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): Wetlands, A Word for You, and Gorgeous Grunge
STAMPIN UP INK: Crumb Cake, Early Espresso
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Crumb Cake, Early Espresso, Whisper White
ACCESSORIES: Dimensionals, score board, dauber

rs114

Please stop by my store for all of your stamping needs.
ShopOnline

Leave a Reply

