FMS 142 and FM 166: Mixed Bunch, Betsy’s Blossoms and A Dozen Thoughts

My summer days are flying by; how about yours?!  After two weeks away from playing in my studio (a work related trip and then preparation for my three classes last week), I thoroughly enjoyed just relaxing with no specific agenda last night.  Earlier in the day, I had been in a big box store and stopped by a bin which was labeled, “Impulse Buying;” I laughed out loud as I thought, “At least they’re being truthful about their intent! “  Anyway, I found this adorable stamp for just  50 cents and quickly snatched it up to take home and color.  I used Mixed Bunch and Betsy’s Blossoms, accented with sparkly sequins, to create the background image.

FRESHLY 3
Then I started on the adorable watering can and quickly thought back to the days when I used to do counted cross stitch on linen. I had “older” friends who would say, “How can you see that tiny count?!” I thought to myself, “It’s easy!” Fast forward 30+ years and my eyes are now accepting the fact that age truly does play a role in visual capabilities 😉 This image was indeed small; but, it was so much fun to color!  The little polka dots on the spout and handle are not part of the stamp; they are added with white gel pen and SU Basic Black.  The layout is from this week’s Freshly Made Sketch and the Hello theme with sequins is from the Friday Mashup Challenge.

FRESHLY4

 

STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): Betsy’s Blossoms, Mixed Buch, A Dozen Thoughts
NON-SU STAMP: ME-E-Inc.
STAMPIN UP INK: Lots of SU markers and Tuxedo Black Memento
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Real Red, Basic Black, Whisper White, Kaleidoscope DSP
ACCESSORIES: Stamp-a-majig, sequins, dimensionals

FMS 142fm166 ShopOnline

 

10 thoughts on “FMS 142 and FM 166: Mixed Bunch, Betsy’s Blossoms and A Dozen Thoughts

  1. Lovely card! Your coloring on the watering can is fantastic, I think it was a sticker…it made me think of Mary Engelbreit!

    Thanks so much for playing along with us at The Friday Mashup!

  2. You are the first to use the sequins in a way I find delightful (rather than tacky) so you may have just converted me to liking them on cards! This is adorable and as a Mary E. fan I love how you used that stamp as an accent!

    • Thanks so much for your kind words Suzanne. I must admit, this was my first attempt at using sequins, as I wasn’t sure how to apply them in a complimentary (rather than “tacky”) fashion; so I really appreciated your encouraging words!

  3. Oh, your coloring and cutting are awesome, Stacey. Love the DSP at the bottom- a great detail to complement the other design elements. Great MashUp this week:) Thanks for playing along:)

    • Thanks Cindy. The DSP was actually an afterthought; the card definitely still needed something when I finished the top and middle portions — I was pleased with how well this DSP coordinated.

Leave a Reply

