JAI 220 Patriotic Feeling Sentimental, En Francais, Gorgeous Grunge

When I saw this week’s Just Add Ink challenge, I automatically thought of a patriotic bunting.  I cut my Night of Navy and Real Red DSP into 1” x 3” rectangles; then, I cut each rectangle in half diagonally.  Using the diagonal pieces, I created a sunburst which was cut into a circle using the SU circle die.  After trimming the circle to fit the top of the card, I decided to add some texture by embossing the bunting with the Square Lattice EF.  While I really liked the bright, crisp whisper white, I decided to create a vintage card and quickly reached for the Feeling Sentimental stamp set.  I grew up in a town where the fireworks display was held at the county fairgrounds; so a Ferris wheel seemed the logical choice for my card’s stamped image.  To create a vintage effect, I stamped  En Francais lightly in the background with some smatterings of Gorgeous Grunge over the words.  Next I inked the edges of the card, adding a bit heavier concentration in the corner to shadow the Ferris wheel.

JAI 220 2014.07.02

Next I applied Gorgeous Grunge and some sponging to the bunting. The triple looped linen thread bow was to be the finishing touch; but, I felt the card still lacked something. After walking away for an hour or so, I came back and immediately decided to add a brass brad to the center of the Ferris wheel; the small brad gave the detail/dimension I felt was missing and was thus the card’s finishing touch!
JAI 220 CLOSE UP
STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): Feeling Sentimental, Gorgeous Grunge, En Francais
STAMPIN UP INK: Crumb Cake, Sahara Sandstone, Baked Brown Sugar
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Crumb Cake, Whisper White, Night of Navy DSP, Real Red DSP
ACCESSORIES: Linen thead, brass bad, circle die, scallop circlejai winner badge die, sponge, Square Lattice EF
JAI 220

19 thoughts on “JAI 220 Patriotic Feeling Sentimental, En Francais, Gorgeous Grunge

  1. Your card is just lovely Stacey, the Ferris wheel image and starburst paper pieced effect are perfect for the history that inspired you. Thanks so much for joining us at Just Add Ink.

  2. I love how you have created the top circle part of your card. It’s great and looks like it would be quite hard. Great card. Chantell JAI

    • Thank you Chantell. The starburst effect is actually quite easy to do. If you search “stamping up starburst,” on Youtube; you should find several good tutorials that will walk you through the process step by step.

  3. I love how your card was created from memories of fiireworks and county fairgrounds Stacey. Its beautifully vintaged to suit those memories. Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week.

  4. I love the patchworking look you’ve created and it matches perfectly with the vintagy feel of your card.
    Thanks for your entry this week at Just Add Ink.

    Trish
    JAI Design Team

    • Thank you, Tina. I had to order some more linen thread after finishing this card; my supply has greatly diminished. I’m excited for Mr. Brown to pay me a visit this week with many goodies!

  5. Pingback: JAI 224 Peace and Joy Iridescent Ice card with Work of Art and Good Greetings | Studio Designers

Leave a Reply

