FMS 143: Flower Shop, Best of Greetings and Gorgeous Grunge

I’m one of those people who love to use clip art in my emails.  Recently when I was browsing through Google’s clip art, I happened across this little picture and “fell in love.”  Today was my day to bring the picture to life using the Freshly Made Sketches challenge for the card’s layout.

This-Sandwich-Generation-granny-nanny-loves-cute-patriotic-red-white-and-blue-country-clipart-dont-you-300x233

I cut ¼” strips of Naturals White and Basic Black and wove them together to create the flower pot. Then I mounted the woven strips onto a rectangle and trimmed the edges at an angle to create the slanted pot. In order to hold the pieces firmly together, I ran the rectangle through the Square Lattice EF. As the card evolved, I decided it needed to be grunged up a bit – so out came the sponges and Gorgeous Grunge stamp to “dirty up” the card. I had intended to use So Saffron candy dots (based on the clip art picture); but, was surprised to find the So Saffron was actually too bright for the card. I chose Very Vanilla candy dots and colored them with the Blush Blendabilities for a hint of color. I thought this card would be perfect as a thank you to a hostess following a 4th of July gathering or even to a service man/woman for their service to our country. I hope my U.S. readers all had a wonderful holiday!

IMG_1961

STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): Best of Greetings, Flower Shop, Gorgeous Grunge
STAMPIN UP INK: Basic Black, Garden Green, Sahara Sand, Crumb Cake, Blendabilities Blush (for the candy dots), white gel
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Naturals White, Real Red, Pacific Point, Pacific Point DSP (2012), Summer Smooches DSP, Basic Black
ACCESSORIES: Sizzlits Little Leaves, Square Lattice EF, Pansy Punch, Very Vanilla candy dots (colored with blendabilities), aqua painter, sponges, brass brad, bitty star punch, linen thread, glue dot
FMS Final 143-001

8 thoughts on “FMS 143: Flower Shop, Best of Greetings and Gorgeous Grunge

  1. Fabulous patriotic card. I love how you’ve put everything together – looks great! Thanks so much for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches.

    • Thank you Karren; I was pleased with how well Pacific Point worked for the patriotic cards I made this month. I typically use NIght of Navy; but, happened to be out.

Leave a Reply

