PPA 210, FMS 167, TSOT 174: Teeny Tiny Wishes, Love and Sympathy

This sympathy card was designed with three different challenges before me.  Pals Paper Arts color challenge this week was to use Basic Gray, Lost Lagoon and Pool Party.  In looking at my card you may notice the pink hue at the top of my stamped image panel – that is Basic Gray — truly, it IS Basic Gray!  I tried a new technique this evening that I learned from one of Patty Bennett’s you tubes.  After applying my watercolor wash (the Friday Mashup challenge), I sprinkled coarse salt on top of the wet paper.  As the salt melted in the water, it lifted the color from the paper, turning the Basic Gray into a shade of pink.  You’ll notice on the bottom right corner that the Lost Lagoon and Pool Party are a bit speckled; that, too, is as a result of the salt.  I can’t wait to play more with this technique – I absolutely love the effect it creates!  The layout is based on Try Stampin on Tuesday’s sketch design.  My DSP is mounted on Pool Party then Lost Lagoon and placed on top of the Basic Gray base.  In order to offset the primary focal image, I alternated the color order of the mattes and started with Lost Lagoon, then added Pool Party.  In addition, I used my Basic Gray marker around the outside edge of the Basic Gray matte and then added dimensionals to cause the image to pop a bit.  I struggled with adding the three candy dots, as I felt the card was already fairly busy; but, in order to fulfill the sketch challenge, I did add the dots and I’m glad I did.  While the Pool Party dots blend considerably with the background, they do add a soft finishing touch to the card.

2014.07.08

STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): Teeny Tiny Wishes, Love and Sympathy

STAMPIN UP INK: Basic Gray, Basic Black, Pool Party, Lost Lagoon

STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Basic Gray, Lost Lagoon, Pool Party, Flashback DSP, Water Color Paper,
ACCESSORIES: Word Window Punch, Modern Label Punch, Pool Party candy dots, brass brads, dimensionls, acrylic block, spritzer, kosher salt

ppa210

fm167
Badge TSOT

12 thoughts on “PPA 210, FMS 167, TSOT 174: Teeny Tiny Wishes, Love and Sympathy

  1. Stacey, this is such a lovely card. Those colors work great together. I’ll have to try the technique using salt after a watercolor wash sometime. That looks really cool! Thanks for joining us at Try Stampin’ on Tuesday and the Friday Mashup. 🙂
    Sara H.

Leave a Reply

