JAI 221 and PP 203: Shaker Card with The Open Sea and Netting Background

I was browsing through You Tube for inspiration the other night, trying to come up with a new [to me] idea for my upcoming class’s 3-D project.  I happened across this great tutorial on how to make a box in a card,  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FOFCaF1FWhE.  After watching the tutorial, I went to my new DSP to see what I thought would work well; I was anticipating using the spiral flower on the lid.  However, when I got to the Maritime DSP, my direction fully changed.  My wheels started turning and before I knew it, I had combined my shaker card idea with my 3-D project, a shaker box!   Woo Hoo; I can’t wait to share this with the ladies in my advanced stamping class next month!  I had so much fun putting this together and was pleased too, to see that Just Add Ink’s challenge for this week was to make a shaker project and Paper Players’ challenge for this week was “Let’s Go the Beach!”

This is the top of the card/box…

2014.07.08 JAI
Here’s the side view:
2014.07.08 JAI SIDE
and here’s the interior, with a place to write your greeting on the top. The lid lifts off the box and is big enough to fit one of our SU button containers.  It was difficult to photograph this “straight on;” but, I assure you the card is not crooked, even though the photo would lead you to believe otherwise 😉
JAI 2014.07.08 INTERIOR
STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): The Open Sea, Netting Background
STAMPIN UP INK: Versamark, Early Espresso
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Night of Navy, Whisper White, Pool Party, Maritime DSP, Window Sheet
ACCESSORIES: Packing twine (I was out of linen thread), shaker foam, dimensionals, glitter, scoreboard, circle dies, 2-1/2” circle punch, 1-3/4” circle punch, white embCut Above Badgeossing powder, heat tool
jai winner badge
pp203

18 thoughts on “JAI 221 and PP 203: Shaker Card with The Open Sea and Netting Background

  1. Great take on the Just Add Shakers them at Just Add Ink Stacey! Clever idea! Thanks for joining us this week.

  2. Your nautical themed shaker box is fabulous Stacey! The twine, porthole and anchor coupled with the glittery sea rubble are a perfect combination. Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week.

  3. I saw your thumbnail over at the Paper Players so I had to stop by and comment. This is super cute!! Love the top with the shaker and the porthole with the twine is such a great idea.

Leave a Reply

