SUO 101: BOWS, BOWS, BOWS with Tag Talk

When I saw the challenge for this SUO Challenge, I said “Uh oh!”   Bows are just not “my thing” when it comes to card making.   I enjoy a pretty bow on a card; but, I am rarely pleased with my bows and therefore I seldom ever use one.  Yesterday was the day I had set aside to make my challenge card and my wheels were turning; but, I was coming up empty.  I decided I’d run my errands, go to a graduation party, then come home and set to work in my studio.  Before leaving for the party though, I needed to make a card for the graduate.  Quick jaunt to my studio, leafed through the new DSP and selected Park Lane; then quick perusal of my new stamps, with my hands reaching for Tag Talk.  I used versamark on the tags with black embossing powder on the bottom layer and white embossing powder on Basic Black CS for the top layer.  As I laid the finished pieces out, I thought, “This card needs a bow!”    I took a few deep breaths (wink, wink), walked to my ribbon rack for something that complimented the card and selected the retired Basic Gray Striped Satin Ribbon.  I cut two pieces of ribbon.  Working with one piece at a time, I folded the ends of the ribbon into the center, then repeated on the second piece of ribbon, which was then set on top of the first piece (no glue dots or adhesive was used).  Next I poked a hole through the layers of ribbon and inserted a Vintage Brad to secure the bow.  A few glue dots on the back of the ribbon and brad made applying the bow to the card a quick and easy task (notice I slightly slanted the bow to give it a bit of a more realistic feel).  Next a few snippets of ribbon, cut at an angle, and glued under the bow, gave the card its finishing touch!
IMG_2016

STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): Tag Talk
STAMPIN UP INK: Versamark
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Park Lane DSP, Basic Black CS, Whisper White Note Card
ACCESSORIES: Basic Gray Striped Satin Ribbon, Vintage Brad, Label Bracket punch, 1” square punch, white and black embossing powder, heat tool, glue dots, tombo, dimensionals
ShopOnline

4 thoughts on “SUO 101: BOWS, BOWS, BOWS with Tag Talk

    • Thanks Robin. This challenge truly was a challenge for me; bows and I are not best of friends 😉 It’s always nice to be nudged out of my creative comfort zone a bit!

Leave a Reply

