JAI 224 Peace and Joy Iridescent Ice card with Work of Art and Good Greetings

I was so excited to be asked to be a Guest Designer for Just Add Ink this month – thanks JAI Design Team for selecting my patriotic card as the winner last month and thus, offering me the opportunity to be a guest designer!

I have to admit I got a bit of a geography lesson today, though.  I thought I was getting my post prepared in time for going live and then I realized I really didn’t know how Australian time compared to EST!  My apologies to those of you who were looking for my post earlier in the day today.

JAI224

The Inspiration Challenge at JAI this week got my wheels turning.  I just love the frosty winter scene with the berries and I wanted to duplicate the effect.  So, I did some Google searches and finally happened upon a wonderful tutorial by Melissa Banbury that gave me the input I needed to proceed.  Using a piece of water color paper, I applied an inked and water spritzed block to the paper.  After the ink dried, I stamped my “berries”  with the round stamp in the Work of Art set.  Once the berries dried, I stamped another three berries in Real Red.  When those berries dried, I used short straight strokes with a white gel marker to give each berry a frosted appearance.  Next I used Versamark ink and clear embossing powder over the entire image.  After heat setting the embossing powder, I repeated that step (versarmark + clear embossing powder + heat set).  Finally, I Versamarked the entire image a third time and this time used Iridescent Ice on top of the image, then heat set.  The finished product gave the appearance of a frosty winter scene!   The multiple water applications and embossing caused my branch to fade out considerably; but, for a first try, I was pleased with the outcome of using this technique.

JAI 2014.07.21 VS 2

STAMPIN UP STAMP(S):   Work of Art (circle for the berries), Good Greetings

STAMPIN UP INK:  Real Read, Rose Red, Regal Rose, Primrose Petals, Pretty in Pink, Night of Navy, Marina Mist, Basic Gray, Versamark

STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP:    Real Red, Silver Glimmer, Whisper White

ACCESSORIES:   Clear embossing powder, Iridescent Ice, aqua painter, heat tool, Scallop Trim Border Punch

ShopOnline

 

12 thoughts on “JAI 224 Peace and Joy Iridescent Ice card with Work of Art and Good Greetings

  1. Stacey, this is just stunning! It’s a pleasure to have you as our Guest Designer this week. Your take on the inspiration pic is fantastic. Thanks for sharing the technique you used; I love it!

  2. The frosted effect is just gorgeous Stacey – thanks for running through the steps. You really captured the essence of the inspiration pic. So pleased you could join us as Guest Designer at Just Add Ink this week.

    • Thanks Kim; I loved the frosted berries and really wanted to duplicate the effect as closely as I could. It was a fun learn-as-you-go endeavor! I appreciated the opportunity to join JAI as this month’s Guest Designer!

  3. Stunning! Saw it in person and it is jaw dropping!!! Your talent never ceases to amaze me, Stacey!!! You are a true inspiration, and amazing teacher, mentor, and friend! 🙂

  4. It’s been lovely to have you join us at Just Add Ink Stacey and you’ve certainly nailed this inspiration challenge. Your pretty frosted technique looks amazing and thank you for sharing the details with everyone.

  5. Stacey your card is fantastic and I just love the technique you’ve used to created that frosted scene! Thank you for being a Guest Designer this month at Just Add Ink.

Leave a Reply

