PP207 By the Seashore and En Francais

Now that my husband and I are empty nesters, I look forward with great excitement to the times when we have all of our “kids” and their spouses/boyfriend under one roof together for an extended period of time. We have an upcoming beach trip that I’m very eagerly awaiting! So, my mind has been flitting to beach scenes. Today’s card took many twists and turns along the way. It went from a crisp, clean image, to a “dirtied, beachy” image. I was pleased with the way the Stylish Stripes EF complimented the Lullaby DSP. To add just a bit of style, I used a small hole punch on the shell’s matte to accent the focal image. The first version of this card, I simply stamped the shell with a darker color on top of the En Francais; I was not pleased. So, next, I stamped it with Early Espresso and quickly sprinkled on some clear embossing powder and then heat set. I sponged it with some crumb cake and still felt it was too drab; so, I added a bit of Pink Pirouette and some white gel pen. It’s difficult to differentiate the colors; but, in person the pink and white do show through and offer the hint of contrast that I desired. Finally, to finish the card for the Paper Players’ challenge, I added a Naturals Designer button with some linen thread.
2014.08.08 PP207
STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): By the Seashore, En Francais
STAMPIN UP INK: Crumb Cake, Soft Suede, Early Espresso, Pink Pirouette, white gel pen
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Soft Suede, Lost Lagoon, Very Vanilla, Lullaby DSP
ACCESSORIES: Stylish Stripes EF, Naturals Designer button, linen thread, clear embossing powder, heat tool, sponge, hole punch, dimensionals

pp207Cut Above Badge ShopOnline

6 thoughts on “PP207 By the Seashore and En Francais

  1. This is just STUNNING! A vintage beauty, and a beachy one at that! Just love the earthy tones and your pretty button, twine & ribbon! Thanks for sharing this us at the Paper Players this week!

    • Thanks LeAnne. I love the Natural buttons for cards like this. I used some Soft Suede ink on the button and then heat set it, so it would blend well with the card. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Gorgeous job! I so miss En Francais! I love that stamp, even if I have no idea what it says! You color palette is so beautiful! Thanks for playing with the Paper Players!

    • I’m with you, Mike, I have no idea what En Francais says either! Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your kind comment. I just hopped on over to your blog; you have a wonderful artistic flair!

Leave a Reply

