SUO 106 Magnificent Maple and En Francais

Do you ever hit a “block” with your creativity?  You know, a time where you sit down to make a card or a scrapbook page and absolutely nothing you do “works?!”   I hit one of those blocks this weekend, as I was trying to complete my fall colored entry for SUO’s challenge.  Despite the great ideas in my mind; nothing, but, nothing, was coming together on paper.  Finally, I pulled up my Inspiration File and started scrolling through the various ideas I’ve saved for just such a time.  In my quest for inspiration, I once again watched Susan Campfield’s tutorial on a “glowing” Magnificent Maple.  After watching the video I decided to give it a try.  Inking up the image was fun; but, then I was faced with how I wanted to mount the image and once again my creative juices would not flow.    I turned the lights off and left my studio, determined a good night’s rest would help.    Early the next morning, I revisited the card and decided to gold emboss a Magnificent Maple leaf and attach it in such a way that it looked like it was drifting to the ground.  Ahhh, I was finally pleased enough to declare the card “finished!”    So, what do you do when you face a creativity block?  I’d love to hear from you.

suo 2014.09.22 W name
STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): Magnificent Maple, En Francais
STAMPIN UP INK: Versamark, Crushed Curry, Cajun Craze, Cherry Cobbler
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Cherry Cobble, Very Vanilla, Early Espresso
ACCESSORIES: Gold embossing powder, heat tool, sponges, mini pearls, paper piercer

ShopOnline

13 thoughts on “SUO 106 Magnificent Maple and En Francais

  1. It really glows!!! Wow! Must say I am impressed with your patience placing those perfectly aligned pearls, my friend! Just lovely!

    • Thanks Cindy! I used my paper piercing template to punch tiny holes around the border and then set the pearls on top of the holes. It was, thankfully, much easier than I had anticipated 🙂

  2. Pingback: RS 135 Grateful for You | Studio Designers

  3. I love the fall/autumn season and the colours that go with it. You have captured that beauty in this card and then some. Have only just found your site and am blown away by your talents. Thank you for sharing with us.
    As for how I get around my ‘artistic’ block……….I come to a site such as yours…….many thanks

Leave a Reply

