SUO #108 Just Believe Treat Holder

It’s been a beautiful autumn; hasn’t it?!  I love the rich fall colors and never tire of using them in my designs.  This week’s SUO challenge is titled “The Treats the Thing.”  I decided to make a favor that could couple as a place card setting for a Thanksgiving dinner table.  I happened across a tutorial by Julie Davison for this little card box with a drawer design and decided it would work beautifully for the favor I was envisioning.   I used a piece of 3” x 12” Old Olive as my base and ran my Speckled Jumbo Wheel across the flat base with Early Espresso ink.  The base was scored at 3”, 4”, 7”, 8” and 11.” I stamped my greeting on the interior flap and then simply folded the score lines to form the container for the drawer;  a single strip of red line on the end tab holds the box together.

 

2014.10.19 SUO TREAT
The drawer was formed from a 2-1/4” square piece which was scored at one inch on each side and then assembled.  The drawer holds 6 Hershey nuggets.
2014.10.19 SUO TREAT DRAWER
For the image I stamped the flowers from Just Believe with Versamark onto a piece of Very Vanilla and then used clear embossing powder to  emboss the image.  When stamping, I was careful to leave an open space so that a name could be written onto the favor and used as a place card at the Thanksgiving dinner table.  Next, I simply inked up three sponges with Old Olive, Crushed Curry and Cajun Craze and sponged the colors in a circular motion across the image.  To add a finishing touch to the drawer; I punched a 1-1/4″ circle and mounted it onto the drawer with adhesive, then added a Cajun Craze candy dot to serve as a mock drawer handle.

2014.10.19 SUO 2 PIECES

STAMPIN UP STAMP(S): Just Believe, Speckled Jumbo Wheel
STAMPIN UP INK: Early Espresso, Cajun Craze, Crushed Curry, Old Olive,Versamark
STAMPIN UP CARDSTOCK/DSP: Old Olive, Early Espresso, Very Vanilla
ACCESSORIES: Clear embossing powder, heat tool, sponges, Old Olive ribbon, candy dot brad, Cajun Craze candy dot, 1-1/4” circle punch

4 thoughts on “SUO #108 Just Believe Treat Holder

  1. Thanks for this brilliant tutorial and good clear instructions.
    Am thinking that this would be great to adapt for my granddaughter’s wedding next year.

    • What a great idea to use this for a wedding! I might suggest downsizing the box a bit, if you’ll be making them for a number of people. The drawer held more candy than I had anticipated; so, downsizing the box would save on expense when you go to fill them. Best wishes to your granddaughter!

Leave a Reply

